Stop multitasking me..

Stop multitasking me..

multitasking-mom

Conversations with my daughter usually involve very many questions of the why, how, how come nature ?! Plus numerous stories of her adventures in school, I practically know her whole class by name, both names even 🙂

U get the drift, we talk a lot, we enjoy each others company, she’s my little best friend 🙂

So what’s my point?? Life keeps getting in the way of our hanging out. I’m at work all day while she’s at school. When we get home, its shower, homework, dinner, sleep and the cycle begins again.

Okay, our life is not that dreary we do get off days and maybe an hour or two during the week. That’s when i get to hear all about the naughty boy, the bully, the best friend forever, the cute boy(this one threw me but i acted cool)the business she’s going to start,the shoes she wants me to buy for her,the new cool show we must watch on Nickelodeon..etc etc..

Most times I’m usually doing something else while we’re talking, either I’m driving, cooking, ironing or something. As much as I pride myself on my multitasking skills I don’t always follow. Were we talking about the bully or the BFF…

My baby being the genius that she is has caught on to this and sometimes makes me repeat what she just said. Lets just say she’s not very happy when I can’t .

So yesterday she says to me,

mum stop multitasking me,

in the saddest voice you ever heard. That got my attention!

I don’t want to miss out on this quality time that will become a distant memory as she grows older.In fact I’m hoping that we will have built such a great foundation even the teenage monster stage wont stand a chance!

So I’m resolving to give her at least an hour of my undivided attention everyday and definitely more on the weekend. No phone,no TV, no chores, no talking with anyone else. Just us girls catching up 🙂

5 thoughts on “Stop multitasking me..

  1. I know where you’re coming from dear. I have four children, I’ve been a working mother for the last ten years. I’ve lot of catching up to do and I am the one who’s multi-tasking. Such a strenuous job but very fulfilling. I know you would agree for mothers like us, seeing our children happy and doing well with life is the happiest. You’re doing the right thing, keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

